Going Loose

I have never actually made tea from scratch. Ok, yes. I have boiled water before and I’m know to enjoy the occasional lime wedge on my tea, but i have always used tea bags. Some nice tea bags and some definitely less nice ones too, but always tea bags. I have indeed had loose tea before (I even had to stop and think what the proper word for it was – shame on me), and I have to say that it usually tastes better than most tea bags. So i decided to commit to this idea of brewing my own tea from the leaves themselves.

I decided to do a ridiculous amount of research – I went to a tea shop and asked around.

teabiz-teavanateawaresupgrade.jpg

The nice lady recommended a beginner’s set that included 4 different loose teas, a measuring spoon to scoop said tea with, a very fancy looking jug to steep said tea in, a little booklet that lets you know exactly how to use said jug to steep said tea, and a few other indispensables for anyone thinking about drinking tea. All of this for the modest sum upwards of $80, which is perfect because, as a student, I have too much money and nothing to spend it on.

Unfortunately, the jug didn’t come in black, so i decided to buy a cheaper steeping jug (I’m guessing this is what you would call this, but I wouldn’t quote me on that if I were you) for about $20. My professor provided the loose tea, so I didn’t have to buy any. My wallet was thrilled by this, and decided to celebrate by buying a fancy measuring spoon. No real reason, I just thought it was pretty as fuck.

teaspoonmultiple__94258.1452714656.1280.1280

And so I am ready to finally brew my own tea! I’m tired though, so I can’t be bothered right now.

Maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

